Maya Angelou’s Phenomenal Woman


“Now you understand
Just why my head’s not bowed.
I don’t shout or jump about
Or have to talk real loud.
When you see me passing
It ought to make you proud.
I say,
It’s in the click of my heels,
The bend of my hair,
the palm of my hand,
The need of my care,
‘Cause I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.”

(Excerpt)

Read more: http://hellopoetry.com/poem/phenomenal-woman/#ixzz1213XbktY

Because I am a woman/Phenomenally. I like the line. She talks not merely about what is special about her as a woman which marks her out from other women but what is quintessence of a woman which makes her a phenomenon , an event extraordinary or uncommon:

“It is in the click of my heels
The bend of my hair
The palm of my hand
The need of my care”

The first three- “click”, ”bend” ‘palm” are physical attributes of the phenomenal woman but the last- “the need of my care” -is the intangible quality about her which makes her the phenomenal woman. The quiet reassurance that other people feel about her and the natural dependence that flows from her are what makes her the phenomenon she is.

